Old Grammar School
At the top of the famous cobbled Church Lane is a long low building with a fascinating past! Upstairs is an art gallery while downstairs houses the Heritage Centre which tells the history of the town. We know that it was once a Grammar School from the 16th century until around 1860, but there is also evidence that it might have had something to do with the wool trade. Whatever its history, it is a beautiful building!
Purchased by Ledbury Places to avoid it being sold on the open market, it is staffed entirely by volunteers who keep it open from Easter until the end of October. During this time, the Heritage Centre is open every day from 10.30am until 4pm. Entry is free, but we do ask for donations to help with the upkeep of this ancient building.
The charity are currently researching how best to develop this ancient building in a sympathetic way so that is remains sustainable and used by local people as well as visited by tourists.